Alice Cooper Continues His Original Band Reunion on “Paranormal


Like on his last studio album, “Welcome 2 My Nightmare” in 2011, which was meant to be a sequel to the 1975’s classic of the same name the singer invited the old Alice Cooper band back. Interestingly the original Cooper band were never on “Welcome” they had disbanded before that. Six years ago they reunited for three tunes and on “Paranormal,” which is set for release July 28, it will be two.

The original Alice Cooper band created the groundwork for the King of Shock Rock via the first 7 albums. Their collective DNA ran like a chainsaw in a hurricane. Drummer Neal Smith, Dennis Dunaway on Bass, Guitarist Mike Bruce and lead guitarist Glen Buxton who died of complications from pneumonia in 1997.

Starting in 1969’s “Pretties for You,” and “Easy Action in 1970. There two in 71 “Love It to Death” which featured “I’m Eighteen” and then the album “Killer.” They peaked at #2 with the classic album “School’s Out” “1972 – the title tune was their first really big hit reaching #7 on the charts. It remains tied with “Poison” from 1989 as his biggest hit radio tunes.

By 1973 the Alice Cooper Band were eating everyone’s lunch with the powerhouse, “Billion Dollar Babies” their only #1 featuring the hits “Elected” and “No More Mr. Nice Guy.” The follow up album “Muscle of Love” was supposedly intended to be a return to the core rock sound without the theatrics but the bottom was falling out. The album went gold and reached the Top 10 on the albums chart.

Cooper says, “When the original band broke up in 1975, there was no bad blood, There were no lawsuits-we had just burned out the creative process. We had gone to high school together and had recorded something like five Platinum albums in a row. We were never out of sight of each other for 10 years. Everybody just went their own way. Neal, Dennis and I always stayed in touch. Mike disappeared for a while and Glen Buxton passed away in 1997, which was a big blow.”

“But last year Neal called me up and said, ‘I have a couple of songs.’ I said great, bring ’em over. Then he said Mike was stopping by, so I had them come to my house and we just worked on a few things for a week. Then Dennis called up and said, I got a couple songs. So, I thought, hey let’s do this! When you listen to record, it just fits right in.”

“Paranormal” is produced by longtime collaborator Bob Ezrin and features ZZ Top guitarist Billy Gibbons, U2 drummer Larry Mullen and Deep Purple’s Roger Glover. – by John Beaudin

Paranormal Track List

1. “Paranormal”

2. “Dead Flies”

3. “Fireball”

4. “Paranoiac Personality”

5. “Fallen In Love”

6. “Dynamite Road”

7. “Private Public Breakdown”

8. “Holy Water”

9. “Rats”

10. “The Sound of A”

New studio recordings with the original Alice Cooper band:

11. “Genuine American Girl”

12. “You And All Of Your Friends”

Live in Columbus, Ohio, May 6th, 2016 with the current Alice Cooper band:

13. “No More Mr. Nice Guy”

14. “Under My Wheels”

15. “Billion Dollar Babies”

16. “Feed My Frankenstein”

17. “Only Women Bleed”

  1. “School’s Out”

    John Beaudin has been in major market radio (Edmonton, Vancouver & Calgary) for 33 years and a music journalist since 1989. He graduated from Broadcasting school as a news man so he would have the skills to write about the artists that inspired him since he bought his first album, “Madman Across The Water” by Elton John as a teen. In the 80’s Beaudin was the host of the syndicated radio show “The Cross Canada Report” which had two version (Rock and A/C). Beaudin was also asked to be a judge at the Juno Awards (Canada’s answer to the Grammys) Twice. He has anchored every position in radio including morning and afternoon drive and was a Program and Music Director for The Breeze and California 103 in Calgary. He currently hosts the popular Lovesongs at QM-FM in Vancouver and on iHeartRadio.

    Check out more on


    More on John Beaudin